Please Help New English Review
For our donors from the UK:
New English Review
New English Review Facebook Group
Follow New English Review On Twitter
Recent Publications by New English Review Authors
As Far As The Eye Can See
by Moshe Dann
Threats of Pain and Ruin
by Theodore Dalrymple
The Oil Cringe of the West: The Collected Essays and Reviews of J.B. Kelly Vol. 2
edited by S.B. Kelly
The Impact of Islam
by Emmet Scott
Sir Walter Scott's Crusades and Other Fantasies
by Ibn Warraq
Fighting the Retreat from Arabia and the Gulf: The Collected Essays and Reviews of J.B. Kelly. Vol. 1
edited by S.B. Kelly
The Literary Culture of France
by J. E. G. Dixon
Hamlet Made Simple and Other Essays
by David P. Gontar
Farewell Fear
by Theodore Dalrymple
The Eagle and The Bible: Lessons in Liberty from Holy Writ
by Kenneth Hanson
The West Speaks
interviews by Jerry Gordon
Mohammed and Charlemagne Revisited: The History of a Controversy
Emmet Scott
Why the West is Best: A Muslim Apostate's Defense of Liberal Democracy
Ibn Warraq
Anything Goes
by Theodore Dalrymple
Karimi Hotel
De Nidra Poller
The Left is Seldom Right
by Norman Berdichevsky
Allah is Dead: Why Islam is Not a Religion
by Rebecca Bynum
Virgins? What Virgins?: And Other Essays
by Ibn Warraq
An Introduction to Danish Culture
by Norman Berdichevsky
The New Vichy Syndrome:
by Theodore Dalrymple
Jihad and Genocide
by Richard L. Rubenstein
Spanish Vignettes: An Offbeat Look Into Spain's Culture, Society & History
by Norman Berdichevsky














The Iconoclast

Saturday, 25 October 2014
clear

At The Wall Street Journal, here.

clear
Posted on 10/25/2014 4:16 PM by Hugh Fitzgerald
clear

Saturday, 25 October 2014
clear

Story, with much toned down, here.

clear
Posted on 10/25/2014 3:04 PM by Hugh Fitzgerald
clear

Saturday, 25 October 2014
clear

Here.

The makeover, the maquillage, for Ennahda can be seen on French television news, though it's been given no coverage on American television. That makeover does not fool the Tunisian secularists whose large numbers are due to the legacy of Habib Bourguiba. It may fool non-Muslims outside Tunisia. Given the increasing numbers and frustration of young, unskilled, and uneducated males, and too,  the climate changes that will desertify the southern littoral of the Mediterranean, and make the lot of farmers even more difficult, nothing good can be expected in Tunisia. Many Tunisians may try to get to Europe; for Europe's sake they must not be allowed in.

Story, by the trustworthy Carlotta Gall, here.

clear
Posted on 10/25/2014 2:53 PM by Hugh Fitzgerald
clear

Saturday, 25 October 2014
clear

As promised. Hugh writes here about just one instance of Biased BBC reporting. 

It was a lively, peaceful and constructive demonstration, with not a single UAF counter protestor in sight!

The EDL called twin demos against the BBC today; one at Portland Place in London and one at the BBC studio in Leeds. I attended the London event and the photograph above is my first tentative attempt to 'live blog' Or more accurately, 'only minutes after the event blog'. Once home I have downloaded my camera.

I believe that the UAF/Antifacists were intending to counter the Leeds event. The Communist newspaper Morning Star said that they would be mustering an hour earlier than the EDL at the nearby West Yorkshire Playhouse. I don't know yet how that went.

In London this was a static demonstration; no march, members of many southern divisions gathered outside the BBC, using the steps of All Souls Church to get a better view.

The BBC building was quiet. One BBC official and a couple of security guards observed. I hope the senior management heard and will be taking notice.

The speeches reiterated the points made by the EDL and contributors to this site many times. That calling the members of sex abuse gangs, or those who behead soldiers, or attempt to set off bombs 'asian', when they mean 'muslim' is an insult to upright Sikhs, Hindus and other people who originate from the continent of Asia.

That it is wrong that British citizens are required by law to pay a licence fee to run a television, which licence fee goes to directly fund and reporting organisation that no longer reports fairly, accurately, patriotically or impartially. That is biased against Israel, the only democratic state in the Middle East, while favouring organisations such as Hamas.

That the organisation itself has covered up, indeed facilitated paedophilia on its premises, by its employees, the most notorious example being Jimmy Saville who died before he was ever charged with his crimes, and Rolf Harris and Stuart Hall who were sent to prison earlier this year and last year respectively. Who knows what else will yet come to light?

After speeches and some music the demonstration quietly dispersed. 

Photographs E Weatherwax London October 2014

clear
Posted on 10/25/2014 1:01 PM by Esmerelda Weatherwax
clear

Saturday, 25 October 2014
clear

Quiet, good, top of his class, an M.D. with a promising future, but this Bedu went to join the Jihad in Syria  and got killed. And Israelis and Bedouin alike are puzzled: what oh what could explain it?

Story here.

clear
Posted on 10/25/2014 12:59 PM by Hugh Fitzgerald
clear

Saturday, 25 October 2014
clear

Are you upset? Do you think that had he lived he would have been a "valuable contributor to society" as a fellow Muslim maintains? Those who wrote the story want you to think so.

That story here.

clear
Posted on 10/25/2014 12:52 PM by Hugh Fitzgerald
clear

Saturday, 25 October 2014
clear

Fitzgerald: Note to the Turkish government

Oct 11, 2007 at 6:03pm

Note to the Turkish government:

1) The Cold War, or at least the First Cold War, is over. It is no longer 1950, or 1960. There is no longer a need for Turkey’s help in confronting Russia, which, while it has reverted to unpleasantness and despotism, is not the menace it once was. And Turkey is not quite so important a place for listening-posts and other bases.

2) Turkey was seen, not quite correctly, as a staunch ally against Communism, because, you see, “Islam is a bulwark against Communism.” American policymakers liked the Turkish generals, with their stolid soldiers (who fought in Korea). But they failed to realize that they got along so swimmingly with those Turkish generals not because they were such good Muslims (and therefore positively bulwarkish against Communists), but because they were not — because they were in fact “modern Turks,” bearers and preservers and protectors of the Kemalist legacy.
3) Those Turkish generals, and the secular class of Turks whose development had occurred because of the constraints Ataturk placed on the political and social power of Islam, did not do what they should have before the Return of Islam under Erbakan, and such shadowy backers as Fethuleh, and Erdogan, and now Gul. That is, they did not continue to pursue, to push still further, the Kemalist program. They were satisfied with what had been achieved. Like the leftists in Iran who made common cause with Khomeini, they could not quite believe that the lowly Muslims — that is, the real Believers — would ever return to power. But they have, and they are also, cunningly and methodically, chipping away at the whole Kemalist enterprise.

4) Turkey has not fulfilled, as it seems to think, its duties to its American “ally.” It did not permit the use of Incirlik airbase. Three rather than four divisions, therefore, had to take over Iraq. There was no invasion force from the north that might have made a difference in Anbar.

5) The Turkish population has, in the last few years, made a viciously anti-American movie — one depicting American soldiers in Iraq as veritable Nazis, and a Jewish doctor as a Mengele-like figure, harvesting the organs of dead Iraqis to be sent to such places as “Los Angeles and Tel Aviv” — into the biggest Turkish box-office smash of all time. And at the top of the book bestseller list was a Turkish edition of Mein Kampf. And high Turkish officials described the American effort in Iraq as one of rapacious murderers. No one in Turkey seemed to think they were duty-bound to protest. No one seemed to realize that there was anything that needed protesting.

6) Turkey is a member of NATO. The Turks apparently think they will remain in NATO no matter how outrageously they behave. But why should NATO continue to tolerate an Islamic country? What conceivable good can come of having privy to NATO circles a government like that now in power in Istanbul, given that the great threat to the other countries of NATO, and to the Western alliance, comes now from the forces of Jihad? That is, Jihad through terrorism, Jihad through qitaal or conventional warfare, Jihad through the Money Weapon, Jihad through campaigns of Da’wa, Jihad through demographic conquest, Jihad through the constant pressure and battering of the legal and political institutions of every Infidel nation-state in which Muslims now feel themselves to be sufficiently numerous and powerful to act in such a manner. They are sure that there will be no consequences no matter what changes in those institutions or special treatment that they continue to demand. They are sure there will be no consequences despite the extraordinary prickliness and quickness to anger, and the campaigns of apologetics intended to sow deliberate confusion among the Infidels, and the refusal to collaborate, as one would think all Muslims would be eager to, falling all over themselves to, with security forces in ferreting out all those — those “few” — who have “hijacked a great religion” and so need to be watched, reported on, taken into custody, expelled or imprisoned.

The Turkish government may find that its threats will win it a temporary reprieve in Washington. It may be that the Bush Administration will be able to stop this resolution from being passed. It may be that Bush thinks that the large-scale murders of Christian Armenians by Muslim Turks began in 1915, when it began twenty years before, with no “wartime conditions” to blame, with the first great modern massacre of those Christian Armenians (in which both Muslim Turks and Muslim Kurds participated): the massacres of 1894-96.

But it won’t be able to do that forever. It is up to the secular Turks — Orhan Pamuk has been among the first — to start discussing the mass murder, or genocide, of the Armenians. They can’t hope to prevent the discussion. The more they try to stop it, the more intense that discussion will become. Vahakn Dadrian’s book will go into another edition, and another, and another. And Spyros Vryonis’s work on the massacres of the Greeks, and the 1955 attacks — The Mechanism of Catastrophe — will start being read more avidly. The more they deny, the more it will come out.

And they will see. They can already see that the E.U. does not need Turkey, does not want Turkey. And they will see that NATO, and the Americans, do not need Turkey, a recalcitrant Turkey, a difficult Turkey, a Turkey that makes demands for the rewriting or the ignoring of history. This is not a Turkey that the American government needs quite so much. After all, if the Turkish army will not be ordered to collaborate with Infidels against other Muslims — and it will not be, not by the current government — then what good is Turkey to NATO? Who will it fight, or help to fight?

The Americans should have learned, must have learned, that they never again should invade and remain in a Muslim country. By all means, when necessary, bomb from on high; that’s what missiles and planes in the Air Force are for. But not land troops, not remaining in place among a permanently hostile population — hostile not because we do this or fail to do that, and not as Bush likes to say “because of who we are” (meaning, as he does, people who “love freedom” blah blah blah), but “because of who we are” in another, more primitive and obvious sense: we are not Muslims, we are instead Infidels. That’s enough. That’s more than enough.

This Tarbaby in Iraq apparently now is forcing the Administration to placate Turkey. That is one more reason, if one more were needed, to exit Iraq as soon as an administration comes to power that is capable of coming to its geopolitical senses.

The brouhaha may, not right away, but soon, lead to Turkey threatening to leave NATO. No doubt the Turkish government fully expects the Americans to rush to them, to offer them this and offer them that in an attempt to get them to stay. They may find that no one tries to stop them, that every country in NATO is secretly pleased that the one Muslim state has removed itself, voluntarily, and thus relieved NATO members of the difficult and embarrassing undertaking of forcing Turkey out.

clear
Posted on 10/25/2014 12:17 PM by Hugh Fitzgerald
clear

Saturday, 25 October 2014
clear

Ever since the start of the three years and two weeks I served in prison in the United States, I have tried, as much as I was able, to assist victims of the criminal justice system who seemed deserving and had less ample means than mine to pursue appeals and relaunch their lives. In every case, I have tried to assist people who were never accused of anything violent or abusive of women or children. I cannot hold myself out as a large benefactor of a numerous group of deserving people and would not be indiscreet about it if I were. But where I know the individual and am confident that he has been harshly treated and would respond positively to a helping hand, I have generally tried to offer one. I made many friends in prison and keep in touch with most of them, as they try to start their lives over in a productive and useful way.

In my first prison, at Coleman, Florida, prior to my successful review of convictions by the U.S. Supreme Court, one of my best friends (and a fellow tutor in the education service) was a former mathematics teacher in a high school in the Southern states, and a commodities trader. Whether he was innocent or committed an error with legitimate legal consequences, I obviously do not know, but I know him to be an intelligent, entertaining, companionable and loyal friend, either a victim of injustice (and therefore in numerous and sometimes distinguished company in the United States), or someone justly convicted who did the crime and did the time and deserves to be allowed to start over with a clean slate. The chances of this man breaking a serious statute in the future are, I think, zero. He is a civilized and decent man devoted to his family and his friends, and I am one of them.

He has a reasonable job and is settled in his late father’s apartment and with his father’s car, and is almost through the humbling irritation of supervised release, which in the American system is worked up to be an almost constant irritation, as the bloated prison system is constantly seeking to flop people back into custody. Inmates are the raw material of the prison industry, which has a voracious appetite for more, and the least mistake, no matter how innocuous, sends you back with an enhanced sentence as a recidivist. When I met him, he was considering embarking on a novel, though he had not written professionally before, and I and other prisoners encouraged him to try. As a published author, l was able to make some useful contacts for him, but he conceived and wrote and rewrote a very interesting story in the genre of youth adventure fiction with some “visionary,” i.e. supernatural, elements to it.

He is William G. Anderson and his book is entitled Shadowy Reflections. It is published in Canada by Influence Publishing, and is a rattling good read. It has got around a good deal in pre-publication. My friend and National Post comrade George Jonas wrote for the cover of the book that if “you pick it up … you will never put it down until you are finished.” The eminent American author and editor Roger Kimball (of The New Criterion and Encounter Books), wrote that Shadowy Reflections is “as large, powerful, and mysterious as the mighty Mississippi River … a capacious, humane and insightful meditation on the exigent metabolism of adolescence.” Margaret Atwood has tweeted positively about it and referred to it on her website. It has some (wholesome) sex and a little (well-provoked) violence, and is a compelling page-turner, as George Jonas wrote.

I have never used this column to tout anything, other than when I gave what proved to be good stock tips during the 2008 financial market crisis, when I was a prisoner, but I recommend this book as a riveting read and an excellent gift for a late teenager or young adult of either sex. I am biased of course, and proud to have played a cameo role in the creation and publication of Shadowy Reflections, but I endorse the book because it is both a good book on its merits, and a magnificent achievement by a man with no advantages except his own determination in a new field where he already excels, returning to the world after more than five years in the unedifying ambiance of the American Gulag. My pitch may seem crass, and if so I apologize, but it is both just and artistically appropriate. Shadowy Reflections by William G. Anderson is available on Amazon.

Because my exposure to the American prison system has, to say the least, been amply publicized and I am rigorously unembarrassed about it, many people whom I do not know, in this country and the United States, write to me about what they consider to be their own or a relative’s miscarriages of justice. I often put their concerns before some very dedicated and reputable organizations that assist those who have been imprisoned or detained and seem to have a legitimate grievance. One such is the case of former Oshawa regional councillor Robert Lutczyk, who has been in the Central East Detention Centre in Lindsay, Ont., for two years, pending trial, scheduled for January, 2015. The charges against him are serious: kidnapping a civic official for several hours and a variety of offences related to unauthorized weapons and explosives. He has no prior record. I don’t know anything about the merits of the case, but he has a plausible prima facie defence. My concern is that his friends have written to me to report that he has been denied bail three times, denied legal aid although he does not have the means to pay counsel, denied access to a computer to learn the Crown’s digital disclosure on the case, and has even been denied a pencil and writing paper. Such notes as he has been able to make with borrowed materials have reportedly been confiscated by correctional officers.

I have no way of knowing if these allegations are well-founded, but their source seems plausible. I wrote to the representative of the Ombudsman’s office, who wrote me back promptly and very courteously with news that it was looking into some of Mr. Lutczyk’s complaints but emphasizing that the Ombudsman’s office had no authority to instruct the correctional authorities or take any position on most of the issues. I was referred to personnel of the Ontario Ministry of Community Safety and Correctional Services. I wrote on Oct. 3 to the superintendent of the Central East Correctional Centre, Neil Neville, whose name and email address were given to me by the official with whom I corresponded at the Ombudsman’s office. In my note to him, I stressed that I did not have any opinion on the accuracy of the charges against the defendant or his allegations against his jailers, but asked if in Mr. Neville’s opinion there was any truth to those allegations.

As I have had no response of any kind for over three weeks, despite a well-staffed public and press relations apparatus in the ministry, I restate my question here. There is a right to know, as the Ombudsman’s office implicitly acknowledged. Mr. Lutczyk has authorized that the authorities communicate with me about his case. The issue here is whether a defendant is being improperly prevented from mounting a defence to charges that bring a 14-year sentence (though he would presumably serve a shorter time), even if he pleaded guilty, which he will not.

My only interest is due process, not interference in the case itself. The refusal of the head of this facility even to get out an acknowledgement of receipt of my message by a member of his entourage is uncivilized and negligent. Even the U.S. Bureau of Prisons could do better than this, Mr. Neville. I await your reply.

***

Many readers have asked me to comment on the Toronto mayoral election. I like the Fords personally and think much of the criticism of them was affected snobbery, and that Rob Ford did deliver on his promise to slow the proverbial gravy train. I wish them well, but I think Toronto needs a stretch of dignified and productive serenity, and hope that my old and capable friend John Tory will be given the opportunity to provide it, and that he will be rewarded in his perseverance after a series of electoral disappointments that would have broken the resolve of lesser men.

First published in the National Post.

clear
Posted on 10/25/2014 9:52 AM by Conrad Black
clear

Saturday, 25 October 2014
clear

The perfect Christmas gift. Here is an excerpt from their promotional literature:

This impressive calendar showcases 12 absolutely precious kittens, each carefully selected through a grueling audition process. Unlike bland, privileged garbage kittens chosen for nothing more than shallow good looks, Social Justice Kittens radiate fierce strength in the face of untold adversity, and all are gifted with a dazzling array of genders and orientations to go with their tiny, oh-so-kissable faces! THE STATUS QUO WILL NEVER FULLY ACCEPT THESE KITTENS!

(...)

Each month features a charming kitten professionally photographed in a heroic pose appropriate to a small cat defiantly speaking out on the hottest social justice issues of the day. A sassy, challenging declaration erases any doubts about each cat’s passionate rejection of the dominant paradigm.

In the end, the choice is simple: financially support the ideals embodied by this treasured, unique gift, or refuse to purchase a copy and become one of those hateful fake allies who actively embrace injustice and murder.

hat tip: David Thompson.

clear
Posted on 10/25/2014 9:07 AM by Rebecca Bynum
clear

Saturday, 25 October 2014
clear

The story here.

I don't care about the casualties. Why should I? They are alien in every sense, from a different univserse.  I am sure they were all people who represented a mortal threat to public order in Tunisia. They were part of the half of the society that wants to be Saudi Arab, determined to make life hell for the half that wants to be French. What interests me is the complete lack of any indignation expressed by those who like to express themselves so loudly in some other contexts. I can imagine the world-wide howl of protest if Israeli troops raided a site on the "West Bank" (Judea and Samaria), and killed all of the occupants, five of whom turned out to be women. Can't you?

clear
Posted on 10/25/2014 8:14 AM by Hugh Fitzgerald
clear

Saturday, 25 October 2014
clear

Egypt's savior, General Al-Sisi, its most thoughtful and best leader in modern times, warns that the Muslim fanatics,supported by other fanatics abroad, are out to destroy Egypt. And after the latest attacks in the Sinai, he declares three days of mourning and a state of emergency.

Story here.

clear
Posted on 10/25/2014 7:50 AM by Hugh Fitzgerald
clear

Saturday, 25 October 2014
clear

Here.

And meanwhile, the journalists' guild, to which all journalists must belong, has accused Magdi Allam, of "Islamophobia" and want there to be consequences. Egyptian and Muslim by birth, Magdi Allam came to Italy when he was 19, over time abandoned Islam, and became a ferociously relentless revealer of what Islam is like from inside, and at the same time he assumed the mantle of an outsider defending Italy and the West, worried protector of his new country. He's been a member of the European Parliament; he political group he heads is called Io Amo L'Italia (I Love Italy). He wrote a book in praise and defense of Israel. Mark his name.

clear
Posted on 10/25/2014 6:14 AM by Hugh Fitzgerald
clear

Saturday, 25 October 2014
clear

Nor influencing people.

Here.

clear
Posted on 10/25/2014 6:08 AM by Hugh Fitzgerald
clear

Saturday, 25 October 2014
clear

From The Times and the Brent and Kilburn Times

A man from Kilburn has been charged with seven counts of sexual offences involving a 15-year-old girl. Mansoor Miah, 21, of Hilgrove Road, was charged with the offences at Kentish Town police station yesterday after being investigated by officers from the Metropolitan Police’s SO15 unit.

He was bailed to appear at Westminster Magistrates’ Court on November 6.

(The) mother of (the) 15-year-old girl contacted police, concerned about her daughter’s online interaction with a man. Fears about the girl’s internet activity had been raised at her school, which alerted her mother.

Mr Miah is active on social media as a follower of Anjem Choudary and his mentor, the exiled radical cleric Omar Bakri Muhammad. On Twitter he has urged Muslims to “rise up and defend the honour” of Bakri Muhammad, who is currently imprisoned in Lebanon. His tweets also include calls for Sharia in Lebanon and for the country to become a caliphate, or Islamic state. 

On Facebook he has praised the events in Syria and posted photographs of various demonstrations organised by Choudary's various groups.

Miah was charged with seven offences this week, including encouraging the girl to make and distribute indecent photographs of herself and asking the girl to watch him performing a sex act via a webcam.He is also charged with attempting to arrange to meet the girl at a hotel in November last year “to engage in sexual activity”. Another charge alleges that Mr Miah attempted to meet the girl after “grooming” her through contact on Facebook. 

clear
Posted on 10/25/2014 5:39 AM by Esmerelda Weatherwax
clear

Saturday, 25 October 2014
clear

Look here.

The story is about the execution of a young Iranian girl, whose trial was farcical, and who was sentenced to die for killing a man who, she said, had been sexually molesting her. There was a campaign to keep her from being executed, but the Islamic Republic of Iran was implacable. The only way her life might be saved would be if, as according to the Shari'a is possible, the family of the dead man took blood money instead (the same practice prevails in Saudi Arabia, where the Al-Saud and their rich courtiers can buy themselves out of anything). In Islam, the state does not have a monopoly on violence, and individuals can decide whether or not they prefer money to what they see as revenge, carried out for them by the state in lieu of the natural order of things. Similarly, in Muslim societies anyone may carry out the execution of those who, it is claimed, have blasphemed against Muhammad or criticized Islam or apostasized; the state does not have a monopoly on, may not even be the main enforcer of, the Islamic law.

But that's not the point of this post. The point of this post is the bottomless nastiness and stupidity of so many at the BBC. At the top of the page to which a link was given, you see a stylized hangman and a woman's body dangling -- an image from the failed campaign to stop the execution. But at the bottom of the page, you see a photograph of what is presented as, and may be, an execution room in the United States. See? The BBC just wanted to make sure you didn't end the article by being angry with Iran alone, and that you end your little read about Iran with a picture of the Ameicans, just as bad as, it is implied, or perhaps even worse than, the Iranians, when it comes to capital punishment. Not "everyone does it" but the Americans, at least, do it, and of course are known for executing women who've been molested, and hanging on high cranes homosexuals, and so on, just the way the Islamic Republic does it.

Peas in a pod, and who are the Americans, or who are those in the West allied to America, really to protest the practices of the Islamic Republic of Iran?

Do you hate the BBC? Or do youby now at least hate those (many) of its employees who are your enemies, the enemies of the West, and whom you support, either as British taxpayers, or as Amerians who support NPR and educational television which, in turn, give so much money to the BBC?

clear
Posted on 10/25/2014 5:09 AM by Hugh Fitzgerald
clear

Friday, 24 October 2014
clear

A security camera screen shot of Chaya Zisel Braun  z”l  being wheeled by her parents moments before the Hamas terrorist  attack

Source:  Israeli TV Channel 4

 

 

Three month Chaya Zisel Braun was run down and killed at the Silwan Light Rail Station in Jerusalem by a Hamas terrorist, 21 year-old Abdel Rahman Al-Shalodi. Eight other persons were injured in the crowd as he ploughed through them onto on the station platform. Hamas issued a statement calling Al-Shalodi’s murder of Chaya Zisel an “act of heroism”.  Al-Shalodi had served time in an Israeli prison on terrorist-related charges.

Ha’aretz reported

According to witnesses, Al-Shalodi drove the car 14 meters on the tracks itself, hitting disembarking passengers and continuing on along the length of the track. He stopped after hitting a pole a few hundred meters down and then attempted to flee on foot, when he was shot, arrested, and hospitalized.

[…]

An eyewitness reported seeing the car hit the mother and baby and continue plowing through the crowd. “The stroller was shattered and the mother was screaming.

[…]

The stroller flew into the air and the baby was found 10 meters away from the stroller.”

Ha’aretz reported

According to witnesses, Al-Shalodi drove the car 14 meters on the tracks itself, hitting disembarking passengers and continuing on along the length of the track. He stopped after hitting a pole a few hundred meters down and then attempted to flee on foot, when he was shot, arrested, and hospitalized.

[…]

An eyewitness reported seeing the car hit the mother and baby and continue plowing through the crowd. “The stroller was shattered and the mother was screaming.

[…]

The stroller flew into the air and the baby was found 10 meters away from the stroller.”

Hamas issued a statement calling Al-Shaludi’s murder of Chaya Zisel an “act of heroism”.

A security camera screen shot  showing Hamas terrorist al-Shalodi driving along platform.

Source : Israel Channel 4

Chaya Zisel parents and visiting grandparents from America, the Halperins, grieved for their loss. Shimon Halperin and his wife had just arrived in Israel on their first visit after their birth of their granddaughter to see Chaya Zisel. Instead they were rushed to Hadassah Hospital on Mount Scopus where Chaya succumbed to her injuries. She was laid to rest at a Jerusalem cemetery at midnight, Wednesday, October 22nd.   Al -Shaludi's  mother,  did not acknowledging her son’s murderous action.   The Times of Israel  reported 42 year old Inas Sharif  saying “I feel [Chaya’s mother’s pain, I am a mother after all. I don’t wish for any mother in the world to lose her child.”

 Biased media  obfuscated what occurred on Wednesday  at the Silwan Light Rail stop in Jerusalem located at the bottom of Ammunition Hill.

 

Al -Shalodi's mother did not acknowledge her son’s murderous action.

Instead, The Times of Israel reported 42 year old Inas Sharif saying “I feel [Chaya’s mother’s] pain. I am a mother after all. I don’t wish for any mother in the world to lose her child.”

Biased media obfuscated what occurred on Wednesday at the Silwan Light Rail stop in Jerusalem, which located at the bottom of Ammunition Hill, the site of fierce fighting between Israeli and Jordanian soldiers in the Six Day War. Ammunition Hill is now a landmark, located at the edge of the residential Jerusalem neighborhood of Ramot Eshkol.

With its usual lack of concern for getting the ‘scoop’ before getting the truth, the AP initially ran the headline, “Israeli Police shoot man in East Jerusalem” and only after complaints about it being misleading changed it to read, “Palestinian Kills Baby at Jerusalem Station.”The U.S. consulate in Jerusalem issued  a statement hours after the event calling it a “traffic incident”. When the news caught up at Foggy Bottom they called it an act of terrorism, but with the usual proviso of “all parties remaining calm.” Jen Psaki  State Department Press Spokesperson made  the following statement:

The United States condemns in the strongest possible terms today’s terrorist attack in Jerusalem. We express our deepest condolences to the family of the baby, reportedly an American citizen, who was killed in this despicable attack, and extend our prayers for a full recovery to those injured. We urge all sides to maintain calm and avoid escalating tensions in the wake of this incident.

Jerusalem Mayor  Nir Barkat said:

We must restore peace to Jerusalem - as I said for months, the situation in Jerusalem is intolerable and we must be acting unequivocally against the violence taking place in the city,

Israeli PM Benjamin Netanyahu put the blame squarely on the PA leadership. He said:

This is how Abu Mazen’s  partners in government act, the same Abu Mazen who – only a few days ago – incited  a terrorist attack in Jerusalem. 

Khaled Abu Toameh  squarely put the blame for the eruption of violence in Jerusalem  on PA President Abbas in a Gatestone Institute article, today, “Abbas's Responsibility for Murder.” Toameh wrote:

To understand what drives a young Palestinian to carry out such a deadly attack, one need look at the statements of Palestinian Authority leaders during the past few weeks.

The anti-Israel campaign of incitement reached its peak with Abbas's speech at the UN a few weeks ago, when he accused Israel of waging a "war of genocide" in the Gaza Strip. Abbas made no reference to Hamas's crimes against both Israelis and Palestinians.

Whatever his motives, it is clear that the man who carried out the most recent attack, was influenced by the messages that Abbas and the Palestinian Authority leadership have been sending their people.

Toameh drew attention  to the record of incitement  perpetrated by Abbas and  his cohorts like chief negotiator Saeb Erekat .  They concocted  the hate that led to Wednesday ‘s vehicular homicide by  al-Shalodi.  There was  Abbas’ UN General Assembly speech in September accusing Israel of waging  a “war of Genocide” in the 50-day war against  terrorist group Hamas in Gaza.  This from a man who ordered Palestinian security to cooperate with Israel  during the rocket and terror tunnel conflict fomented by his partner in the unity government, Hamas.   Abbas used the Sukkoth visits to the Kotel to inflame Palestinian. That  resulted in Israeli police cordoning off the Al Aqsa Mosque preventing Palestinians from raining rocks and Molotov cocktails on  the festival crowd of observant Jews below.  Abbas railed about Jewish desecration of Islamic  holy places.     Abbas said:

We must prevent them from entering the Noble Sanctuary by all means. This is our Al-Aqsa. Al-Aqsa is a red line: Israel must be aware that the ongoing raids and attacks on Al-Aqsa will cause a volcanic explosion in the area that will reach Israel. Jerusalem is the eternal capital of the State of Palestine, and without it, there will be no state.

The flash point for al-Shalodi’s  terrorist act was reports that Jewish  “settlers” were buying buildings in the Silwan  section in Jerusalem.   The National , published in the UAE had  a  report that vaulted  to world coverage  when it popped up on Yahoo News, “By hook or by crook, settlers rack up gains in East Jerusalem.”  The report looks suspiciously like hate filled PA agit-propaganda , tantamount to throwing oil on the fire of the “silent Intifada”. 

By fair means or foul, Jewish settlers are notching up property gains in the heart of Arab east Jerusalem through a series of shady deals involving front men or straw companies.

The process by which such properties are acquired is shrouded in mystery, with the new Jewish occupants often moving in under the cover of darkness to avoid confrontation with residents.

The latest controversial acquisitions took place in Silwan, a densely populated Palestinian neighborhood on a steep hillside flanking the southern walls of Jerusalem’s Old City.

In the past three weeks, hardline settlers have moved into 35 apartments there, sparking anger and consternation among Palestinians who vehemently oppose such moves as a hostile attempt to Judaise Silwan.

 

Some were allegedly acquired fraudulently, and others legally.

Jewish groups buying up property in the heart of Arab neighborhoods is an explosive political issue because it touches on the future of east Jerusalem, which the Palestinians want as capital of a future state.

The reality is that Jerusalem is Israel’s eternal and undivided capital. East Jerusalem was formally annexed  by the Knesset on June 28, 1967, reunified following the Six Day War.. Earlier this month we posted on the Iconoclast  :

The President and State Department condemned  Netanyahu’s announcement of 2,610 apartments in Givat Hamatos completing the Jewish areas of the municipality and separation from Bethlehem.   The Administration said the move would “poison relations” among Israel’s allies.  Nir Barkat , Mayor of Jerusalem,  took exception to the  Administration’s criticism of the building program noting that it was anti-discriminatory and had been approved over two years ago.  Nearly half of those apartments were allocated for Arabs.   There were death threats against Arab property brokers for sales of apartments to Jews in the Silwan section of Jerusalem, that prior to the War for Independence had been occupied by Jews. 

What passes for the leadership of the Palestinian Authority (PA) stoked the violence that broke out during the recent Sukkoth holiday. Wednesday’s vehicular homicide of three month old Chaya Zisel Braun was perpetrated by Hamas terrorist al-Shalodi with PA President Abbas, as an accomplice after the fact for inciting the terrorist act.

 

 

 

clear
Posted on 10/24/2014 10:49 PM by Jerry Gordon
clear

Friday, 24 October 2014
clear

No comment is necessary.

Here.

clear
Posted on 10/24/2014 7:03 PM by Hugh Fitzgerald
clear

Friday, 24 October 2014
clear

Liberty GB press release:

Despite all talks of austerity, £1,521.2 billion was the UK’s public debt at the end of the financial year 2013/14, as much as – be prepared for this, but probably you already are - 87.8% of GDP.

The Office for National Statistics, the source of these data, in a recent release also informs that this debt represented an increase of £100.6 billion compared to the end of 2012/13.

Still according to the ONS, government borrowing, excluding the effects of bank bail-outs, was £11.8 billion in September 2014, £1.6 billion higher than September 2013.

Without all their many zeros, these figures may look less catastrophic than they actually are, but are still impressive.

Economists had predicted that borrowing would not increase. Even worse, the government had. Chancellor George Osborne in March pledged to cut the budget deficit by more than 10% over the next 12 months.

According to some calculations, our national debt grows by £15,510 every three seconds.

What happens to individuals and families also happens to governments. Spend more than you have, and you end up in debt. Keep doing it, and the debt accumulates. The more debt you have, the more debt interest you must pay. Last year, Britain's debt cost the taxpayers more than £50 billion in interest payments: about half of the NHS budget and more than the entire defence expenditure.

Reducing the debt is a political priority. Raising tax rates hurts the economy, as has been repeatedly shown. Therefore, we can effectively decrease the debt only by bringing down spending, which would not be difficult to achieve if we cut waste.

The Liberty GB party has various common-sense policies to achieve this goal, including:

  • abolishing purposeless quangos
  • reducing the public sector's unnecessarily high number of employees and other wasteful departmental expenditures
  • halting mass immigration, thus decreasing its enormous expenditure on benefits; diversity policies; education; health; translation services; extra police, prison, judicial and intelligence services; and so on
  • ending health tourism
  • ending non-emergency aid to all countries, except those with a proven record of protection of their minorities, in particular the one which is by far the most persecuted minority in the world: Christians
  • limiting the funding of schools by central government to a base amount, adjusted to the cost of living of the area, with any extra spending raised by the local authority
  • leaving the NHS free at point of delivery, but not in any circumstances. There must be a limit to the expenditure for each person paid for by public purse, that could vary with age and other conditions. This will mean that the elderly and people with chronic or serious conditions, who have more justified need for health care, will have a higher limit. The NHS money will be conditional on the patient's following the doctor's prescriptions, in particular the lifestyle recommendations
  • devolving healthcare decision-making to the local level to enable services to target local needs and to cut out higher layers of bureaucracy
  • implementing "Work for the Dole" (also known as "Workfare"), to help benefit claimants back to work
  • removing benefits for people under 25 who refuse to take up offers of work, training or education. In those cases they should be the responsibility of their parents. This could incentivise them to become active members of society.
  • stopping giving free council or council-funded accommodation to unmarried mothers under 25, who must remain the responsibility of the pregnant girl's parents. The rate of teen pregnancy would dramatically decrease, as has been evidenced in the US when welfare has been withheld
  • seriously cracking down on benefit fraud
  • ending benefits for children resident outside the UK.
clear
Posted on 10/24/2014 1:12 PM by Rebecca Bynum
clear

Friday, 24 October 2014
clear
Last week I met a pleasant lady who, though she had appeared a few times on television, could hardly be counted a public figure. Nevertheless, she had received many abusive messages on Facebook and Twitter as a result of her appearances, and one man had written to her thousands of times and threatened to kill her, telling her that he knew where she lived just to make sure that she was genuinely frightened.
 
Of course, one doesn't know what proportion of messages on the so-called social media are abusive in this way, nor can one define at what proportion of abuse to other messages those media would be a net social bane. Another question is whether the social media express the bile that has always existed or whether it has actually increased that bile by turning the expression of it into a habit.
 
Certainly no one who follows the internet 'discussions' that follow the publication of an article will be surprised that there is so much bile about. The other day, for example, I happened upon an article about research that had revealed a vast canyon in the earth's surface under Greenland's ice sheet, a canyon that was longer and larger than the Grand Canyon. This was a fascinating finding, suggesting that there is still (thank goodness) much that is unknown in the world.
 
You might have thought that such an article would not occasion venom or bad temper, but it did. Here are the comments that followed:
 
  James: Very interesting, but the probing is probably just a
               cover for the start of checking for oil.
 
  Carrol: The computer you used to type your idiotic post was
               made possible by oil.
 
   James: 'My idiotic post,' Carrol? Judging by your absurd/
               unintelligible comment, YOU are the only idiot here, as
               you don't even understand what I've written.
 
   Truant: All [Carrol] did was make a statement that your
               computer has oil-based components in its construction,
               and stated so without any accusations except that you
               are an idiot.
 
   James: No, Truant, you are as thick as Carrol.  
 
If this is the level of insult occasioned by a geological finding in Greenland, you can easily imagine the venom that attaches to more politically contentious matters. The Guardian website censors comments that do not 'abide by our community standards' - and when one reads the kind of comments and language that do abide by those standards, one wonders what the censored comments must be like.
 
Where does all this biliousness come from?
 
First published in Salisbury Review.
clear
Posted on 10/24/2014 11:29 AM by Theodore Dalrymple
clear

Friday, 24 October 2014
clear

Listen here.

clear
Posted on 10/24/2014 9:32 AM by Hugh Fitzgerald
clear

Friday, 24 October 2014
clear

Here.

While the Americans should not be contributing anything to the shock trooops of the Jihad against Israel -- that is, the local Arabs carfefully renamed as "the Palestinians," at the very least the American government, pledging money that American taxpayers certainly would not support if they could vote directly on the issue (fury at Muslims, and at "Palestinians," grows and grows, as more people begin to understand how they have been fooled about Islam and Jihad), should make clear it will not fulfill its own pledge until the Gulf Arab states fulfill theirs. And they won't. And then we won't. And that  will be salutary and bracing.

clear
Posted on 10/24/2014 9:25 AM by Hugh Fitzgerald
clear

Friday, 24 October 2014
clear

A declaration of war on the Islamic State is not directed mainly at the Islamic State. Its existence, in the desert of Western Iraq and Eastern Syria, threatens, sensationally more than effectively, the non-Sunnis in Syria, and the Shiites in Iraq. It should be understood, rather, as a resolution that would be politically difficult to oppose, and thart would allow more effective measures taken against those in the United States (and if it is copied, by those elsewhere in the Western world) who support the same goals as the Islamic State, that is the establishment of a caliphate and the imposition, all over the world, of the Holy Law of Islam, that is the Shari'a. And since almost all Muslims are suppposed to support those two goals, and many, whether they declare it or not, certainly support the imposition of the Sharia, they have now been identified, in that support, as giving "aid and comfort" to a declared enemy. And that makes it easier to puruse and prosecute them at home, and makes it easier, too, to deny Muslims entry into this country, on the understanding that it is administratively impossible to distinguish those Muslims who support the imposition of Sharia (including those who with great feigned sincerity tell us that they do not), from those who do not. Since such support is at the heart of Islam, the burden is on Muslims, in any case, to explain to us how it is they could identify themselves as Muslims and not support Shari'a. But just as we attempt to keep out those who are carriers of Ebola, we have every right to keep out those who are carriers of an ideology which, even if it may lay dormant in some Muslims, can still be contagious, and the converts to Islam who suddenly are transformed from marginal, often slightly deranged types, to marginal, often slightly deranged types who are now a danger to all non-Muslims, are ample evidence of the danger. And what Believer, that is Muslim, even in, or perhaps especially in, insisting  that "the Islamic State has nothing to do with Islam," is not giving "aid and comfort" to the enemy?

 


 

clear
Posted on 10/24/2014 8:32 AM by Hugh Fitzgerald
clear

Friday, 24 October 2014
clear

Hilversum, as in Etty Hilversum.

Mayor Boertjes, former editor of Volkskrant and therefore a molder of opinion, appears to believe that those who leave the Netherlands to fight for the Islamic State are just like, and should enjoy the same movement of freedom, as Dutch Jews who, after World War II, went to help Israel survive the Arab onslaught  that attempted to snuff out its young life.

His comparison is not odorous. But he's right to want to allow  these fanatical Muslims to leave the West, and fight and die, or fight and live, in the already-wretched Muslim lands. Right, but not for  the right reasons.

clear
Posted on 10/24/2014 8:17 AM by Hugh Fitzgerald
clear

Friday, 24 October 2014
clear

Common sense, here.

clear
Posted on 10/24/2014 8:13 AM by Hugh Fitzgerald
clear

Friday, 24 October 2014
clear
clear
Posted on 10/24/2014 7:52 AM by Hugh Fitzgerald
clear

clear
1 2 3 4 5 Next Last


Guns, Germs and Steel in Tanzania
The Thinking Person's Safari
Led by Geoffrey Clarfield
Most Recent Posts at The Iconoclast
Search The Iconoclast
Enter text, Go to search:
clear

 

The Iconoclast Posts by Author
The Iconoclast Archives
sun mon tue wed thu fri sat
    1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
clear

Subscribe