Religion of Pizzas
Dhimmi Watch carries the story of a Halal pizza takeaway, originally from the Daily Star:
A pizza chain has sparked fury by opening a Muslim branch that refuses to serve pepperoni, ham or bacon.
The Domino’s takeaway only makes food with Halal meat.
Classic ingredients that contain any pig meat are banned.
Customers who want a traditional pizza are directed from the shop in the mixed race district of Hall Green, Birmingham, to a non-Halal branch of Domino’s two miles away.
Yesterday pizza fan Chris Yates, 29, a hospital worker, said how he was told he could not have a Meteor pizza topped with pepperoni, sausage, meatballs, ground beef and bacon.
“It’s a disgrace,’’ he said. “I’m all for racial and religious tolerance but, if anything, this is intolerant to my beliefs.”...
Compared with the Wilders ban, this is trivial, but an accumulation of trivialities does matter. However, a distinction must be made between a private business and a government institution. Non-Muslims are not banned from the takeaway; they simply cannot get a pizza with pepperoni or ham there. But they can go elsewhere, either to another branch of Domino's or to another chain altogether. Not long ago I had supper at Reubens, a Kosher restaurant in Baker Street. Unsurprisingly, bacon was not on the menu. And if I were silly enough to eat at a vegetarian restaurant, I wouldn't be able to tuck into a lamb chop. Nothing is being imposed here, although Halal food laws would certainly be imposed if the country became Muslim.
The aspect of this story that is worrying is that there is sufficient demand for Halal pizzas for Domino's to deem it profitable to open such a takeaway. This means that there are a lot of Muslims in the area. The growth in Muslim numbers is worrying, even if the pizzas are not.
Posted on 02/13/2009 6:45 AM by Mary Jackson